HIPAA Compliant Fax and Patient SMS Cost in 2026
HIPAA cloud fax is no longer a quote-only purchase. Checked 8 October 2026, five fax vendors publish a price for a plan that comes with a signed Business Associate Agreement, though the terms differ: two put the BAA on every plan, two only on a higher tier, and one signs it on request. Enterprise fax is still quoted per organisation. On the messaging side, Twilio publishes a per-message SMS rate whose products are HIPAA-eligible under a BAA, while most patient-engagement and provider secure-messaging platforms quote per practice. This page gives you the prices that exist, attributed to the vendor page that published them and dated, the arithmetic you can do on the published carrier rate, and a plain statement of which vendors publish nothing.
HIPAA Fax, Published
5 vendors
publish a price for a plan with a BAA
Patient SMS, Carrier Rate
Twilio $0.0083/SMS
HIPAA-eligible under a BAA
Patient / Provider Platforms
Mostly quote-driven
Klara, Solutionreach, TigerConnect
HIPAA-compliant fax: the published plans and the quoted rest
Every figure in this section was read on the vendor's own pricing or BAA page on 8 October 2026; no vendor's price is taken from a competitor's comparison table. SRFax publishes the longest ladder, priced on monthly page allowance, so it comes first on its own.
| SRFax healthcare plan | Per month | Included pages |
|---|---|---|
| Healthcare Lite | $12.60 | 200 |
| Healthcare Basic | $16.05 | 500 |
| Healthcare Basic Plus | $22.95 | 800 |
| Healthcare Standard | $41.35 | 1,500 |
| Healthcare Standard Plus | $68.95 | 2,500 |
| Healthcare Professional | $137.90 | 5,000 |
| Healthcare Professional Plus | $275.75 | 10,000 |
| Healthcare Professional Premium | $551.55 | 20,000 |
SRFax healthcare plans, read 8 October 2026. Pages are sent and received combined. Overage is $0.05 per page, falling to $0.045 and $0.04 on the two top tiers. The figures above are the monthly-billed rates; billed annually, Healthcare Lite is $128.40 a year ($10.70 a month). The healthcare page carries a “Request a BAA” form, so SRFax's BAA is signed on request rather than at sign-up.
Four more vendors publish a price for a plan that includes a signed BAA. Each is shown at its entry plan with a BAA, with the BAA terms the vendor states, in alphabetical order:
| Vendor and plan | Per month | Pages and users | BAA terms |
|---|---|---|---|
| eFax Business | $39.99 monthly$33.33 annual | 500 pages; 5 users (+$10/mo each extra); $0.07 per extra page | Signed BAA on Business. eFax Personal ($18.99) is described as HIPAA-compliant, but eFax states the BAA comes with Business |
| Fax Pigeon Basic | $5.99 monthly$4.99 annual | 200 pages sent and received; unlimited users; 10¢ per extra page | BAA on every plan, accepted at sign-up; the agreement text is published |
| Fax.Plus Enterprise | $79.99 annual | 4,000 pages; unlimited members; $0.03 per extra page | BAA listed on Enterprise only; the lower plans (from $6.99) do not list it |
| WestFax Solo | $14.99 monthly | 500 pages; 1 user; 3¢ per extra page. Team: $39.95, 1,500 pages, 5 users | Signed BAA on every plan |
Read 8 October 2026 on each vendor's own pages: efax.com/pricing; faxpigeon.com/pricing and faxpigeon.com/baa; fax.plus/pricing; westfax.com/pricing. “Annual” is the per-month rate when billed yearly: eFax Business $399.96 a year, Fax Pigeon Basic $59.88, Fax.Plus Enterprise $959.99. The rows are not normalised, because billing cycle, page allowance and seat count differ by vendor; compare them on your own monthly pages and headcount. What each vendor publishes about its history and security is in a separate table below the quoted vendors.
The rest of the field either publishes a price without stating BAA terms beside it, or quotes:
| Vendor | What is published for the HIPAA tier |
|---|---|
| eFax Corporate | No published rate. Custom quote; eFax lists a signed BAA and HITRUST certification on Corporate. |
| iFax | Plus is $24.99 a month billed annually (500 pages, 1 number) and is marked “HIPAA compliant” on its pricing page, which does not say which plans include a signed BAA. |
| RingCentral | No standalone fax price. Fax is part of RingEX, which is priced per phone user (Core from $20 a user a month, paid annually). RingCentral's HIPAA statement says it makes a BAA available to paying covered-entity customers and that the BAA covers RingCentral Fax and RingEX. |
| Sfax (Scrypt) | Publishes plan prices on its sign-up page, with the BAA on Plus and above, in the most recent copy we could read (December 2025). The live page refused our reads on 8 October 2026, so no current figure is printed here until it is re-checked. |
| Concord | No published rate. Its price estimator emails an enterprise estimate. |
| Updox | No published price. Its pricing page lists bundle allowances (Standard: up to 1,000 fax pages a month) and routes to a demo. |
Read 8 October 2026 on each vendor's own pricing and HIPAA pages.
What each fax vendor publishes about its history and security
These tables compare published prices, BAA terms and what each vendor publishes about its security and history. They are not a recommendation. Before choosing a vendor, check that its BAA covers the subcontractors that handle your faxes, and review its security documentation.
| Vendor | Operating since | Security attestation published | Subprocessor list published |
|---|---|---|---|
| Concord | 1996 | HITRUST certified; SOC 2 Type 2 | No |
| eFax | Not stated as a year (“over 25 years”) | HITRUST r2 on eFax Corporate; eFax Business is not on eFax's list of certified products | No |
| Fax Pigeon | 2026 | None published | No |
| Fax.Plus | 2016 (owner Alohi founded; Fax.Plus released 2017) | SOC 2 Type 2; ISO/IEC 27001 | Yes |
| iFax | 2008 | SOC 2 and ISO 27001, described as “compliant”; report type not stated | No |
| RingCentral | 1999 | SOC 2 report and ISO/IEC 27001 for RingEX; HITRUST certificate for RingCentral Office | Yes |
| Sfax (Scrypt) | Not checked: the vendor's site refused our reads on 8 October 2026 | ||
| SRFax | 2004 | None published | No |
| Updox | 2008 | None published | No |
| WestFax | 1999 | HITRUST r2; SOC 2 Type II | No |
Read 8 October 2026, and taken only from each vendor's own site: its about or company-history page, its security or trust page, and its legal pages (for eFax, a Wayback Machine capture of efax.com taken that day, because the live site blocks reads from outside the US). “Operating since” is the year the vendor states, or the founding date in its site's company data; a copyright line is not counted. “None published” means we found no SOC 2, HITRUST or ISO 27001 claim on the vendor's site. “No” under subprocessors means we found no published list; a vendor may still name subcontractors in its BAA or privacy policy, or supply a list on request.
Patient SMS: the carrier rate is published, the platform is quoted
The message itself has a published price. Twilio's Programmable Messaging rate, read off twilio.com and read 8 October 2026 (unchanged since July): $0.0083 to send and to receive an SMS segment on a US long code or toll-free number, $0.022 to send an MMS, plus a monthly number fee ($1.15 long code, $2.15 toll-free) and carrier pass-through fees on top. Twilio's SMS and MMS products are HIPAA-eligible under a Business Associate Agreement on its Security or Enterprise Edition, contracted through sales rather than self-service. (Twilio's Programmable Fax product is not on Twilio's HIPAA-eligible list, so it is not a HIPAA fax option.)
Our arithmetic, not a vendor price
At Twilio's published $0.0083 per SMS segment, 10,000 patient texts a month is $83 a month in message fees; 30,000 texts is $249. Add $1.15 a month per long-code number, before carrier pass-through fees. That is the carrier-level message cost only. It does not include the patient-engagement platform that manages TCPA consent, opt-outs and a compliant archive, which is a separate line the platform vendors quote per practice rather than publish. So the message layer prices exactly, and the platform layer needs a quote.
A few patient-engagement platforms do publish a figure. Read each on its own unit; none is summed with the carrier rate above, because they are different purchases.
| Vendor | Published figure | Unit and note |
|---|---|---|
| Spruce Health | $24 - $49 | Per user / month. Communication platform: SMS + voice + video |
| Weave | from $249 | Per month per location, a floor; Pro plan. Rest is quote-driven |
| OhMD | from $300 | Per month, Communicate plan; Automate from $500, Develop custom |
Vendor pricing pages, checked July 2026. Quote-driven, no published rate card: Klara, Solutionreach, Rhinogram, TigerConnect and OnPage each route to a demo or sales contact, so no per-practice or per-user band is printed for them here.
Provider-to-provider secure messaging
Clinician secure messaging (not patient-facing) is a separate category from patient SMS. TigerConnect, OnPage, Backline, Halo Communications and Symphony OnCall are the dominant platforms, and all are quote-driven: none publishes a per-user rate card this page could attribute, so no per-user figure and no organisation-wide total is printed here. What a hospital pays is set by user count, modules and integration depth in a quote. The HIPAA-relevant capabilities to evaluate are message-level encryption, audit logging under 45 CFR 164.312(b), message-recall, and automatic message expiration.
The TCPA + HIPAA stack for patient SMS
Patient SMS sits at the intersection of two regulatory regimes: HIPAA (PHI in the message body) and the Telephone Consumer Protection Act (the patient must have consented to receive the message). The HIPAA-compliant SMS platforms handle both:
HIPAA side: the platform executes a BAA, encrypts the message in transit between the platform and the carrier, encrypts at rest in the platform's archive, supports audit logging under 45 CFR 164.312(b), and supports retention under 45 CFR 164.316(b)(2)(i).
TCPA side: the platform tracks the patient's consent (when collected, by what mechanism, with what scope), supports opt-out via the standard STOP keyword, maintains an opt-out registry, and prevents sending to patients who have opted out.
Practices building their own SMS workflow directly on a carrier API (Twilio, Bandwidth, Vonage) pay the published per-message rate but must implement the consent tracking and the HIPAA-compliant archive themselves, which is substantial engineering that no vendor prices. For practices without a dedicated engineering team, a managed platform is usually the more cost-effective path despite the higher headline price. This is an informational cost reference, not legal or compliance advice. Consult a healthcare technology attorney about TCPA + HIPAA stack design for your practice.
HIPAA fax + SMS cost FAQ
Why is fax still so prevalent in healthcare?
How much does HIPAA-compliant fax cost, and who actually publishes a rate?
Does sending a fax over a regular phone line count as HIPAA-compliant?
How much does HIPAA-compliant patient SMS cost?
What is TCPA and how does it interact with HIPAA?
What about HIPAA-compliant secure messaging between providers?
What were the most common fax-related HIPAA incidents?
Amended 8 October 2026. After a reader correction, the fax section was re-checked against every named vendor's own pricing and BAA pages. The eFax row now shows eFax Business, which carries a signed BAA; the eFax Protect plan this page cited in July is no longer listed on efax.com/pricing. WestFax, Fax.Plus and Fax Pigeon were added because each publishes a price for a plan with a signed BAA. The July statement that the rest of the cloud-fax field publishes no HIPAA rate card did not hold when re-checked and has been replaced. The patient SMS and secure-messaging sections were not changed, apart from re-reading Twilio's rates. Later the same day, a table was added showing, for every fax vendor on the page, the year it says it started operating, the security attestations it publishes and whether it publishes a subprocessor list, read from each vendor's own site.
Related cost guides
HIPAA Email Cost
Paubox, Virtru, M365, Workspace
HIPAA Video Cost
Doxy.me, Zoom for Healthcare, Teams
Dental Practice HIPAA Cost
Weave, Solutionreach, Rhinogram context
Physician Group HIPAA Cost
Mid-size ambulatory pricing read
Business Associate Guide
BAA execution for communications vendors
Hospital HIPAA Cost
TigerConnect, OnPage at hospital scale